Why do we blog?

holdhands

by: Judy Merrill-Smith

I liked what Steve shared about his daughter’s blog (Awe). She’s excited to be writing because she feels like everyone wants to read what she writes. After hearing his story, I started asking myself if we are any different? Why do we blog ourselves?
The answer I came up with for myself is pretty much the same as the reason Steve said his daugher (Awe) likes to blog. I am more aware than Awe of the fact that no one really wants to read my blog. However, I still feel some fulfillment and satisfaction with every entry because I feel like I’ve contributed to humanity.
A part of me also hopes that someday, a kindred spirit will happen along one of my blog entries and feel a connection with my thoughts and share some of their own. It’s like holding out my hand into space hoping that someone will reach out and grasp it. So, despite knowing the reality that very few people will probably ever read some of my blog entries, I think that I feel almost as excited and happy about putting up a blog entry as Awe.
The other irony is that I don’t want to read other people’s blogs.  I will sit down and read a book, page after page, but my patience for reading online is rather short lived.  The only time I do it is if I want a specific answer to a specific question.  Otherwise, I don’t go out there looking to read people’s blogs.  I think there is some truth to this article about how the internet is affecting our attention spans.  I’d like to come back to this in my next post.  For now, I’m happy to admit that I’m just as naive as Awe when it comes to blog posting.

3 Comments

  1. March 4, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    Hi! I’m the person who shot the photo you used in this blog entry. The photo is available for use under a Creative Commons license. One of the requirements of the license is that you properly attribute the photo to me (by mentioning my name in the blog or caption, for example). Also, it is considered proper etiquette (and I’ve requested this in my flickr profile) to let the photographer know how you’ve used the image. Please consider doing this in the future. I’m glad you are enjoying blogging — good luck with your endeavors.
    Sincerely,
    Judy Merrill-Smith

  2. Natalya Ayling said,

    March 26, 2009 at 4:47 am

    You naughty boy/girl for not attributing that photo to Judy…I have to say though it has taught me a lesson I would not have known to do that. So thank you Judy and thank you to whoevers blog this is…I actually don’t know as you don’t have your ‘about’ me section filled in.
    Having read your blog about Awe and blogging I am absolutely hearing you. I am presently writing this to give my fingers a work out and quite literally that is my only reason (and of course knowing I need to to have a chance of passing my course!) Blogging for me, at this point in my life is just a pain. I am not teaching and I am at home with my 2 young daughters which quite frankly gives me zero time to get on the computer because my daughters HATE it when I even open the laptop screen! Hence why I am presently hiding out a friends house to use this computer!
    I don’t feel like I have anything interesting to talk about to the rest of the world and why would anyone want to read what I have to write unless it is super interesting/exciting/new. So I realise as I am writing this no-one will actually read what I am writing perhaps not even you who this blog belongs to. Therefore I will stop warbling…but I am glad I was able to relate to what you were blogging about!! ps I would much prefer to write in my journal than on a blog.

  3. teachermac said,

    April 8, 2009 at 2:07 am

    Yeah, the first is what I’d call a prickly comment but I left it up because we’re doing this for educational reasons. Glad to see it helped. Normally I’d make a comment like the first via e-mail to the person. However, on a more philosophical note, there seems to be a strong tendency for people to use blogs and forums as ways of getting emotions out which makes them all the more interesting because it’s very difficult to understand a person’s emotions from their writing. Many of us, including myself, like to think we’re good at understanding how a person is feeling when we read their e-mails or writing, but the way we read their writing is often largely affected by our own emotions at the time. How many times have you looked at a studet’s work one day and had a certain subjective feeling about what the grade should be and then looked at it on another day and had a different feeling? How many times have you read someone’s e-mail and asked them about it later only to discover that you’d misread a part of it? It’d be so interesting to know all of the misunderstandings we’ve had with people through our writing (or in all areas for that matter – misunderstandings are just as prominent in person I suppose).
    Your journaling comment is an interesting one. I kind of like journaling to a certain level online for the same reason that Awe wrote the blog entries she made. Sometimes I experiment with sharing more than some would feel acceptable because it’s nice to make deeper connections with friends back home that way, but in general, I won’t journal as deeply and openly online as I do in my personal journal.


Leave a Reply

